Home > Technology > Mobile Books Catalogue

Mobile Books Catalogue

I had 150 odd books on different subjects which I was sure I wouldn’t reread. Given this I wished to sell them or give them off. I realized that a list or catalogue of these books would be useful. So, were I to create an excel file by typing in the book names, authors, ISBN no. etc.? I could have done that but then I realized that I had a barcode scanning application on my android phone. I wondered if scanning the barcode would populate the book name and author in the mobile which I could then export to my computer. And yes, this is what the application did, it allowed export of the book list in a csv file via email. Post the barcode scan the book title is searched on the internet and a list of books created within the scan app. I also ended up discovering another android application which allows to enter the ISBN manually over and above barcode scanning to fetch the book details from the web. The app fetches a fair amount of data about the book including title, authors, ISBN no., publisher, description etc. No data entry to create my book catalogue! I realize that there are other applications to do something similar for one’s music and video libraries.

And yes, was able to sell about 50% of my stock for a reasonable value by spraying the list around a bit!

 

Categories: Technology
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

